Growing in Grace

Standard

The past few weeks have been a whirlwind, and to be honest, although I’ve been praying for and over and my kids, I haven’t looked at this list a whole lot.  Between ministry, summer time, and a recent auto accident that has my brother dealing with a broken hip, I’ve just been trying to not drown in everything that needs to be done (or in the mountain of laundry that has taken over my bedroom).  But in the midst of all of this, God has been working on my kids (I know this is a shocker) even though I haven’t had a structured prayer plan for them.

2 Peter 3:18 (ESV)

18 But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.

Just today, my 4 year old told me one of the greatest things that even we adults need to remember.  We were actually sitting down for breakfast and she said, “Momma, I know something.  God cannot change who He is.”  Wow.  Slap in the face.  What truth and knowledge she has already learned.  Our elementary kids at church have been going the What’s In The Bible curriculum for the summer.  In order to learn what it was about, I downloaded the soundtrack on iTunes.  My kids have been listening to it NON-STOP.  It has been a huge learning experience and has raised some really interesting questions about the Old Testament.

So they are getting the knowledge down, but we are still working on the grace.  Me included.  I was touched by a blog this week that I read where Danielle Bell talked about falling short when her niece did something that frustrated her.  I was reminded of how I react time and time again to even the least little questions.  I don’t leave enough margin for them in giving out grace, and if I work on it, they will get better at it too.

Leave a Reply

