Proverbs 31 Woman

Standard

MOTHER AGE 15

This is my Granny.  She’s been on my mind a lot here lately.  As I think back and remember her, my mind is directed to the woman described in Proverbs 31.  She was a prime example of this woman.  Her legacy was passed down through her children, her grandchildren, and even her great grandchildren.  I pray that I will live to be half the wife, mother, and grandmother that she was.  Being a Christian wasn’t something she just did on Sundays, or when it was necessary.  It was who she was.  A lover of Jesus.  First and foremost.  She worked in her household to make sure her family was taken care of.  She loved my Granddaddy with all her heart.  When she passed away, we went in to help my Granddaddy clean out her things, and we found a freezer full of meat that she had stored away in hopes that they would never go hungry.

She made clothes, and could sew just about anything.  She is how I found my love for sewing.  One of my most precious memories of her was when I was pregnant with my first child.  I wanted everything to be perfect, but with a small budget.  Granny helped me make cushions for our baby’s rocking chair.  I had only sewn a little here and there, and didn’t really know what I was doing.  But she patiently showed me and helped me through it.  To this day, I remember how to make piping because of those 8 hours we spent together.

She could cook like no other.  Now I know that everybody says their Granny could cook, but I will defend hers as the best any day of the week.  Every Sunday growing up, I remember eating lunch that was piping hot and delicious to the last bite.  I recall all the times that I ate way to much at Christmas and Thanksgiving, because it was just too good not to eat it.  I remember sneaking into the kitchen while the adults were talking in the other room to grab one or two or three of the sweets that she’d worked tirelessly to make for us.

As we go through the busyness of life, us moms usually get buried in the middle of it all.  As we go about doing the work of the Lord, let’s not forget what we should actually be doing.  That’s raising up a generation that will know and honor God, love Him with all their hearts, minds, souls, and strength, and pass along a legacy that is worth remembering.

GRANNY

Leave a Reply

