Being Intentional Pt. 2

Standard

Yesterday, I talked about how God had led me to being more intentional with my time this year.  You can read how the plays out in myself, my marriage, and my family here.

Today, I want to talk about what this looks like in ministry.

This past December we had the chance to share with our church family what the purpose behind our budget was.  That it wasn’t just a number, but that there was a vision to go along with it.  It was during this time that I prayed and studied what we have done in the past.  I got really excited as I thought about the future of the children’s ministry at our church.

My first thought was the time that we have with kids at church is so limited.  According to Reggie Joiner, we only get an average of 40 hours a YEAR with kids at church.  Parents get around 3000!  There’s no way we can disciple the kids that come through just by having them come to church on Sunday morning and Wednesday night, and expect them to get what they need in that time.  It was going to have to be a partnership between us and parents.

I have completely reevaluated every event that we have done in the past.  They have been great and definitely served a purpose, but everything has gone on the table this year.  My hope and prayer is that we allow families to take ownership of discipling their children.  I want the focus to be shifted from the thought that we are discipling our children by taking them to church to I disciple my child and the church is my partner in that journey.

We are trying out the first of our new and improved family night events this month.  I’ll have to blog about it when it’s all said and done, but thanks to Sam Luce for the idea.

Leave a Reply

