Being Intentional

Standard

As I prayed and listened to what God would have me do this year, I felt like He kept telling me to do what He has called me to do and not to worry about the rest.  That has meant letting some stuff go, and it means being smarter and more prayerful about what I am doing in ministry, in my family, with my marriage, with myself.  I knew that the schedule I was keeping was not a forever kind of pace, and as God transitioned me into a new role this past year, I needed to take the time to figure out what was really important and what was not.

So how has this looked? (This is mostly a confession time for me)

Myself: I’ve worked on scheduling time during my day to read and study God’s word.  I have completely fallen in love with the Old Testament.  It amazes me as I read through the Old Testament the details that God had prepared so long ago to save us from ourselves. And I just have to say that I don’t think I would have lived a week during the time of Leviticus.  I would have never remembered all those rules!  There are definitely times that I could find oh so many other things to do instead of stopping and reading, and I will be the  first to admit that I’m not perfect, and there are times when I let those things get in the way. But it is a habit that I am working toward.

My Marriage: Our schedules have been tossed up in the air lately as my husband went back on nights recently.  The best thing to help with frustrations is communication.  When we aren’t communicating, I get frustrated.  My problem is that I communicate in my head, but don’t always do it out loud or on paper.  We are having to be more intentional about date nights, child care, and everything in between just to keep it from being neglected.  I have to say that my husband is absolutely my best friend, and I am so thankful to be walking through life together with him.  I could not ask for a better man to do that with.

My Family: This is probably the hardest one for me honestly.  But if it is not in order, and I’m not intentional about this area, then none of the rest matters after it.  My kids are my number 1 area of ministry (or should be).  I have been very convicted lately of the time that I spend with them.  Is it that I am in the room but not present with them?  I mean, how many times a week does my daughter have to ask to bake in her Easy Bake Oven before I have the time to do it with her?  How many times do I have to keep asking my son what he said because I wasn’t really listening the first time?

I am working on being more patient with my kids as they explore their boundaries, gain independence, question the way the world works, and where they fit in it.  I have found that when I schedule the time to be available for them, and make it a priority to set that time aside for them (and not my email or phone included) that they are really neat individuals.  I also know that if I miss this time, I won’t get it back and will not be able to redeem the relationship that I didn’t spend the time to develop in the first place.

Tomorrow I will talk about being intentional in ministry.

How are you being intentional with the time that God gives you?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Being Intentional Pt. 2 « Kidmin World

Leave a Reply

