Words

Standard

So in less than 24 hours I will be loading up with my 6 year old son and headed to Belize to help lead VBS and do whatever God has planned for us for the next 7 days.  I am praying that His Spirit is moving there already, and that when I come back, I continue to be as excited about spreading the gospel here, with my neighbors as I am in another country.  For a while now, I have prayed for God to break me.  Make me not want the mundane everyday routine, but to follow where He leads, and take advantage of opportunities He offers.

I would say that I’m not normally a worrisome person, but I’ll have to admit that I went into full Momma mode last night.  My son and I went over everything I could think of that he would need to know (even though we have been talking about this for a year).  How he has to stay with me, he’s going to have to keep up.  He’s got to follow directions.  What to do if we get separated.  What information is in his bag.  What to expect on the plane.  In the airport.  Etc., etc., etc….

But as I sit here this morning, reflecting on what God is doing in my life, I am more and more amazed by Him.  This past Sunday, our whole group was commissioned before heading out on the mission field.  We all gathered up at the stage, and while I couldn’t tell you who all was around us, I know of two friends who were there.  These two have become very close friends of mine over the past year, and I am forever grateful for the relationship I have with them.  As our student pastor began to pray over us, these 2 ladies began praying aloud.  I caught only glimpses of things that these three people said in the midst of my own prayer, but the thought occurred to me that this was the most beautiful sound I had ever heard.  It was the words of believers crying out to God for protection, for boldness, and for whatever else was said.  The most beautiful sound.  What was even more beautiful to me was the fact that my God heard every bit of it.  He could distinguish each syllable that was spoken aloud and in silence.  I so often get caught in the trap of more than one of my kids trying to tell me or ask me something, and my mind cannot comprehend the chaos of utterances that echo from their mouths.  I must take the time and listen to each one individually in order to understand and comprehend what it is they are trying to tell me.  But thankfully, we don’t have to wait our turn with God.  He hears us all the time, no matter whether it is a groan (like I get from my almost 2 year old), or we speak with eloquence and grace like a dear lady in our office (I love to listen to her pray).

But we will devote ourselves to prayer and to the ministry of the word.” Acts 6:4

Please pray for our team.  We have a lot of people traveling together, and logistically it could be a nightmare.  But God has already shown that He is in control of all of this (as if we had to wonder).  There have been so many things already that have happened to prove that we are doing the work that God has set before us, and that Satan doesn’t like it.  But our God has prevailed, and His name will be made known among the nations.  He will be glorified!

Leave a Reply

